New Jamf User - Question about Subscription

rayskwire
New Contributor

Hello,

To provide some basic background, I am a former Windows desktop engineer that used Dell Kace to configure and deploy Windows images to a wide variety of desktops and laptops, so I do have familiarity with scripted software installations and deployments in so much as those would apply to understanding the overall concepts of how Jamf works to manage devices, but I am still new to Jamf. I have not yet performed any training and have relied on my rudimentary Google skills and some higher level support within my institution to get me where I am today.

Here is my situation though that I don't yet know how to tackle. I have 18 iPads sitting on my desk that need to be used by students in a lab for teaching purposes and I've been asked to deploy VitalSource's BookShelf app to these iPads and then have two eBooks available in the app on all 18 devices. I also have been provided 36 VPP codes to cover this. However, I'm not sure where or how I'm supposed to be using these codes.

I got confused at first and thought they were part of Apple's own iBooks app and that Jamf recognized one of the VPP codes for one book but it did not recognize the other and that was when I realized first that one of the books is not available through the iBooks app and second, that the VPP codes were specifically for the Bookshelf app, not iBooks.

So what I have now is a configuration that pushes BookShelf out to these 18 iPads as a free app and I think I understand how to upload these codes in JAMF but it does not appear to be uploading them and I'm not sure what, if anything, I'm doing wrong? In my Mobile Device App configuration page for Bookshelf:

Under General, the app is enabled and unmarked as 'Free' (if I mark it as free, I think it prevents me from uploading the CSV?)
Under scope, I have targeted my group of these 18 iPads.