Renew Certificates

Bullenbuh
New Contributor II

Hey all,

Not sure if this is the correct place to post this but here we go:

Long story short - I'm new to Jamf (actually our whole company is).

Now we are trying to renew the "client certificate(?)" because employee's are losing connection to the VPN due to the cert being expired. Eventually this will become an issue for our employee's in other countries as they cannot come into the office to retreive a new one. At the moment it's only valid for a year (if that gives you an idea what I'm talking about)

I've seen a lot of people mentioning this issue but I haven't found a solution yet. We are in an on-prem environment using ADCS with Jamf. Feels like there should be a way to automate this? Is our configuration wrong somehow? Not sure why the Mac's are able to retreive these without issues when enrolling them but not renew them? Every suggestion on where to look are highly appreciated!

I would also like to mention that i'm not familiar with everything so please be patient with me if I'm using the incorrect terms to describe things - I'm simply asking because I want to learn and make life easier for our employee's (I'm not even in the infrastructure team)

Best regards,

Bullen

6 REPLIES 6

AJPinto
Honored Contributor II

The configuration profile that installs the certificate should renew just before a year is up. The exact time before it expires when it renews is up to your configuration, its a setting. This should update the certificate also. MacOS will notify the user before the configuration profile expires if it has not renewed for some reason.

If you have one of those people that insists on micro managing, you can change anything in the configuration profile and tell it to reinstall to all devices. I would not recommend doing this, but there are those people out there.

Bullenbuh
New Contributor II

Hey!

Thanks for your reply.