Ability to see when Keyboard or mouse were unplugged

PAC
Contributor

This idea/feature/request will seem odd to allot of people but i work in a school and we are seeing mice and keyboards been disconnected and moved or stolen

I will walk around the school at the ends of the day looking for issues with computers and when the keyboard is removed i see the message trying to set up the Bluetooth keyboard because no USB type is detected.

What would be awesome would be the ability to be able to do a smart group that looks for a certain error or event from the computer. I'm hoping then i could look up the event and time and see who was logged in at that time and try and track down the missing keyboard or mouse

Not sure if this is possible or not but thought i would ask

Regards
Pete

7 REPLIES 7

Look
Valued Contributor III

I would look at the console logs after a keyboard removal and see if there was anything unique there that you could look for with an EA, there is bound to be stopping or starting of something as a result. Only issue with an EA might be the delay until recon, so it might not be same day when you knew about it.

SimonLovett
New Contributor III

A possibility might be to compose a LaunchDaemon managed script which runs every few minutes on the machines and uses ioreg to detect if the keyboard or the mouse strings have disappeared from the output:

The command

ioreg -p IOUSB

outputs the following on my machine with a keyboard attached: