Apple's Software Update server (Policy) for Big Sur Security Updates

jschank
Contributor

Anyone having issues attempting to update Big Sur devices via Policy and using Apple's Software Update server? The policy is not working for Big Sur including intel machines. Attempting to get the latest update (20D74).

With the terminal open, it states it downloads. It shows as completed in Jamf within the policy. Also within client history. Yet reboot does not install the update.

Mojave and Catalina devices update fine.

102 REPLIES 102

justin_musk
New Contributor II

We're seeing the same issue, have you been able to find a solution?

Ammar
New Contributor II

Same issue here. Would love to know when you have been able to find a solution.

Jason33
Contributor III

I ran an update via policy yesterday, and it downloaded and prompted me to reboot. After entering my non-admin user account password, machine rebooted and installed 11.2.2.

Hi Sir

I'm new to jamf could you please share your workflow how you done it

The issue is that there used to be a great work flow in Jamf Pro for running Apple Security updates 

Policies

Payload: Software Updates

Install from Apple Software Update Server

This worked great up until about 6 months ago! The issue is with Intel based iMacs running mac OS 11 Big Sur. Now this Policy no longer works. Apple's response is that they are not an enterprise solution and that is why you pay for an MDM like Jamf Pro. It is there issue. 

Apple is requiring a manual reboot on M1 Apple Silicon Macs and that we know, but I am still just trying to update Intel based iMacs which are requiring a manual reboot like the M1s so obviously there's a disconnect between Intel and M1s in Jamf Pro. 

Tried a dozen scenarios and this is the latest, the issue is it will download the Apple update, but I have to log in to each iMac and click Restart which is a bit challenging when you have hundreds. 

Latest Policy:

Just Files & Processes: softwareupdate -iaR --force