Cached credentials and Kerberos ticket at login

Kumarasinghe
Valued Contributor

I'm using AD with mobile accounts and Forced local home directories and experienced that if I login to the computer as soon after it boots up to login prompt, it will use cached credentials instead of authentication to the network. This will cause not to get a Kerberos ticket for SSO.
This will be resolved if it wait for a while before I login so the network stack properly initialised.
But users might login as soon as it boots up and will cause some issues with network home folders and SSO.

Has anyone got a solution to this?

This is the same thing someone asked in another forum;
http://www.afp548.com/forum/viewtopic.php?showtopic=29889

hi all I have some general inquiries regarding kerberos and OS X. What I am trying to figure out is if the behavior I am seeing is by design or typical. Or if something is broken. This is my first time using OS X and studying it's integration into other systems like Active Directory so unfortunately I can't draw on any personal experience We're experimenting with integration of OSx into our almost purely Microsoft environment. We're seeing a few caveats to how authentication works against Active Directory and, more specifically, Kerberos. First, when you boot up OSx and the networking stack is not completely initialized, it won't you log in with network credentials if you're never logged in before. That's to be expected as it can't contact any directory servers. Once things initialize and the redyellow dot in the username field goes away, you can log in and you'll get a TGT from a kerberos KDC. All is well and you can authenticate to other network resources using kerberos. However, say you reboot again and log in before the networking stack is up or you're just disconnected from any network. Let's also assume you have a mobile account created for your managed (network) account. So, you are able to get logged in. Then you connect to the network (wirele