How do I create a .pkg that copies file folder to ~/Library/Preferences

jagstang94
New Contributor II

I'm very new to scripting and packaging, so go easy on me 😉

I'm wanting to create a .pkg that copies a file folder containing specific user app settings (payload) to ~/Library/Preferences. I've been scouring the web for tips on how to accomplish this via Jamf Composer, pkgbuild, and Packages, but have so far been unsuccessful with doing this on my own.

Each time I get an Installer error: The package is trying to install content to the system volume. Contact the software manufacturer for assistance.

The .pkg is signed using Jamf Composer, I'm using Jamf Pro to deploy the .pkg as a Policy. It fails regardless of installing it locally or using Jamf Pro. Target computers are a mix of Catalina and Big Sur OS.

Is this even possible? If so, what am I missing?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

easyedc
Valued Contributor II

So there should be some scripting involved with something like this.  I've generally solved this by placing my config file in somewhere like 

/private/var/tmp/com.test.fil.plist

and a post install script or add a script to the deployment policy and give it an after run. A script would look something like this

#!/bin/zsh

#  script.sh
#  
## Get the user
MyUser=$( /usr/bin/stat -f "%Su" /dev/console )

## Heavy lifting
mv /path/to/file/com.test.fil.plist /Users/$MyUser/Library/Preferences

## Give it to the user
chown $MyUser /Users/$MyUser/Library/Preferences/com.test.fil.plist

## Confirm it's set right
chmod 600 /Users/$MyUser/Library/Preferences/com.test.fil.plist

exit 0

But if this is a setting you want to enforce, you may look at writing your own .plist file and pushing that as a configuration profile to the user. 

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5

easyedc
Valued Contributor II

So there should be some scripting involved with something like this.  I've generally solved this by placing my config file in somewhere like