Imaging

anickless
Contributor II

So I am pretty new at this so I wanted to get the communities opinion on what everyone uses to create images with. My company wants to have some laptops managed via Casper and some just use a image on a mac server and not be managed via JAMF.

Does everyone use casper imaging for both? or is there other software out there as well?

17 REPLIES 17

gachowski
Valued Contributor II

I think you are going to have to provide more details on "some just use a image on a mac server and not be managed via JAMF."

If you are talking about hosting an image on a server (VDI)? Then I think you are limited to two images and they have to be run Apple hardware.

C

anickless
Contributor II

Sorry, Yes I am wondering about hosting an image via Mac Server for some computers that we are going to "freeze in time" due to age (9yrs old) and newer computers will continue to be managed via JAMF.

lazyGhost
New Contributor III

If I understood correctly, you're asking about imaging some clients without having the devices be managed by JAMF, I would approach in two ways:

• AutoDMG + Deploystudio
  • Casper Imaging + Script that basically "jamf removeframework" //Not sure if this would work, others may clarify on this.

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

@anickless if you're just getting into the topic it would be worth looking at it from a different angle. What state do you want these Macs to be in?

Creating images and deploying them requires learning a load of tools and techniques that are dying off. If this is a business environment, it might be worth looking at the setup you want to achieve, software installed, settings applied etc and avoiding the imaging route.

millersc
Valued Contributor

@anickless with being in edu, I get the need. Some form of consistency while not adding cost to your JSS license.

Best way, DeployStudio. With 9yr old equipment, you'll need a couple of things.