JAMF Pro Upgrading from macOS Big Sur to macOSMonterey

ukmercenary
New Contributor III

Newbie here.

So as an IT Engineer in a startup with full admin access to JAMF Pro.  I need some guidance. I am currently trying to build a Macbook which has  macOS Big Sur on it.  When I booted it up I held down option + Command + R which I thought was supposed to look online and download the lastest macOS supported for the Mac I am buildng.

This doesn't seem to happen and i am only given the optinon to reinstall the old macOS Big Sur.  Which is time consuming as then I will need to manually download macOS Monterey.

Where I worked before the admin guys managed to somewhere script JAMF Pro to regonise Macs with old OS and auto upgrade them to the latest..some kind of task sequence?

Another option would be to have macOS Monterey avilable to self service but the above method would be better.

How best to acchive this.?

Please only reply if you have done this before ! no offence !

10 REPLIES 10

barpas
New Contributor II

Hey there,
You might want to check this article below regarding a fresh new install of a version of macOS:
https://www.jamf.com/blog/reinstall-a-clean-macos-with-one-button/
Cheers!

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@ukmercenary It doesn't get much easier than using @grahamrpugh 's  https://github.com/grahampugh/erase-install script (the Wiki section of that link has a section on using from Jamf Pro) but note that you will need a user logged in to run the macOS installer. Also note taht on Macs with M-series processors the user will need to enter their password to authorize the installation.

NewbSysAdmin227
New Contributor II

You could try Shift + Option + Command + R if that other one didn't work. According to this. https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201255