MAC OS in corp environemnt and rights management

Bandi
New Contributor

Hello,

I'm just very new to the JAMF MAC OS topic in general and just was wondering, how you guys handle users permissions on MAC OS ? Do you enable root, or via the sudoers file any other options ?

Thanks !

9 REPLIES 9

LovelessinSEA
Contributor II

you're going to find that everyone does it differently. There are going to be a lot of admins that lock machines down and remove admin privileges to their users. Then you'll see an equal part that give users admin rights and some maybe a bastardized version of both, I think that IBM even gives the user a button to push in the self-service portal that gives users temporary admin privileges, I suspect they monitor the usage of that closely. We use lots of config profiles to lock down settings that we don't want users changing, but what works for some may not work for others. i think it really is dependent on the type of environment you're supporting, medical, professional, or Higher ed may all require different security measures based on info sec's policies.

Bandi
New Contributor

Thank you, I appreciate your input! My problem is that they have full admin rights hence they can easily remove a particular application by running sudo (the app is not on App Store) so don't know if there is any mechanism to control it even when they have full admin rights ….

Look
Valued Contributor III

Full admin is full admin, it gets pretty hard to control things at that point.
However JAMF can easily monitor for the presence of applications on a machine and then put them back automatically if removed, or let someone know so words can be had if that is your preferred method.
Depending on how many users your talking the easiest solution might be to simply monitor the app and revoke admin rights for people who abuse what they have been given.

Gascolator
New Contributor III