Question regarding using the new VPP managed apps with IOS devices

msnowdon
Contributor

I have been using Casper to manage our OS X devices for the last 2 years. Now I want to manage our IOS devices. They are all enrolled in Casper but I have a question about app distribution.

I have configured our JSS with our VPP account. All the IOS apps appear. From what I understand is that I have to invite users and then assign the apps to them. They then need to log on with an Apple ID to install the app. We have several iPad carts that I would like to use VPP but I want to just push out the apps to these devices without any user interaction. Is that even possible? I believe I can do that using the VPP code method but I like the idea of revoking the apps.

Thanks

8 REPLIES 8

chlaird
Contributor

We've been toying with the idea. It's.. complicated.

The issue I've seen is that since each iPad needs an AppleID, you would need to either sign each iPad in with "ipadcart@example.com" OR create appleIDs for each, like "ipadcart1@example.com" "ipadcart2@example.com" etc. Once they're signed in on each ipad, you can enable automatic downloads, do all the invitation stuff, etc.

The second option seems more annoying, but I think it has to be the one. If you use a shared apple ID, then it's technically only using 1 license code that's shared between all the devices, which violates the TOS with apple.

mradams
Contributor

The method of creating an AppleID for each device does work but is not supported nor recommended by Apple. We have toyed with the same idea of creating accounts for each iPad but that would add more work on the management side as there would be over 1000 accounts to create, and each iPad would have to be configured and logged in by a Site Engineer. Currently we will be deploying VPP apps to staff and student 1:1 devices with MDM. iPads in carts are still managed by Apple Configurator.

msnowdon
Contributor

Hi Chris,