Remote Install update macOS 12.6.3

dj_cs
New Contributor II

Hello friends, 

So we are a very small team and I am very new to this admin role and we are realizing that we should have done this a few months back, but didn't do enough research at the time. So, excuses aside, here is the issue. 

We had our users upgraded to Monterey prior to Ventura releasing. We've deferred the updates for Ventura (per the following posts) as we haven't had the time to properly test things in our infrastructure. We also had turned off our forced system update policy that ran updates weekly.

https://community.jamf.com/t5/jamf-pro/ventura-will-be-released-as-a-quot-minor-quot-update-bug/td-p...

https://community.jamf.com/t5/jamf-pro/macos-ventura-update-major-amp-minor-update-deferrals-oh-my/t...

We're still not ready for Ventura (getting a few things resolved, but have only had a couple accidental test cases).

So we are sitting at a place where most users are running Monterey between 12.3 and 12.6, so if we turn the updates back on, majority of them will upgrade to 13 and no longer be able to access our internal network until we get the issues resolved. 

My plan is to build policies to download the full installer for 12.6.3 and run the updates via Self Service script. Then we'll be able to turn updates back on and have a bit more breathing room for testing Ventura. 

I'll be building a smart group of OS 12.6.1 and higher to turn weekly updates back on. Everyone 12.6.0 and below I will put into a group to run the installer policies to get up to 12.6.3. 

I guess the question is has anyone else gone through this? Any tips or tricks or things to be very careful to do/not do? My worst fear is to set this plan in motion and then have people get the update initiated and restart in the midst of a meeting or something. 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Tribruin
Valued Contributor II

I would take a look at this project: