Self Service Issue

mqh7
New Contributor II

Ok, I've deployed a package to my Mac desktop. I setup the package to run via Self Service. When I click on my Self Service icon and then the package to install it I am prompted to enter the Local Admin password.

First, I am logged on as an Admin and second, in the JSS web portal under "computer management framework settingsself service" the follow were set.

Users are not required to log in
End users do not need to be authenticate locally in stall self service items

If both of these settings were set and I am a local Admin why would I still be prompted to enter the local admin password? We need to be able to install software with end user interaction is what we're after.

11 REPLIES 11

mscottblake
Valued Contributor

Try closing and reopening Self Service. If it's been open too long, the program has lost the admin credentials.

andrew_stenehje
Contributor

We've run into the same issue at times and it's because the machine is either not enrolled properly in JSS, or there is a problem with the management password in JSS. We found that if we update the management account password for each machine (either in the JSS machine by machine or via policy) that Self Service works fine without asking for admin creds. We were never able to figure out why the management password was not correct and why it needed to be updated in some cases.

mqh7
New Contributor II

Andrew, where in JSS do you set this password?

andrew_stenehje
Contributor

When you find a machine, choose "Details", in the "Computer Information" tab there is a little "..." button you can select to edit this information. You can then enter in the SSH account and re-enter the password here.

mqh7
New Contributor II

Very cool. But is there a way to do this for all machines at once? I'd like to avoid doing this on a machine by machine basis. Thank you.

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III