Upgrade to Mojave

ekarazhov
New Contributor III

Hello guys, i know this question have been asked and answered. I have been reading a lot of posts on here and there is no universal step by step instructions that i could find. People are saying that some times script is not working, or the results are not consistent in the environment. I am new to all of this. I have been tasked to upgrade some of the devices that still on High Sierra to Mojave and it needs to be done via self service.
I don't want to assume that those devices have Mojave cached, therefore i think i would need to create a package that would get pushed to Application Folder ( I am trying to find out how to do that, so far no luck)
Second i know for a fact that users do not have admin rights, so this needs to be taking in to consideration when doing upgrade. I know there are multiple links to a script that is about a page long on GitHub and there are one liners commands that can perform the upgrade. Given my scenario which route should i take? Long Script or one liner? Any Step by Step or video instructions out there that i can follow in order to achieve what i need. Any help with that would be great! Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

gabester
Contributor III

@taugust04 I understand why it doesn't work, but I'm frustrated and disappointed with Apple that they haven't engineered a solution to benefit those of us who support their desktop hardware and doesn't require multiple reboots. In other words, either have a way to do this or provide a DMG for the currently supported OSes that gets everything up-to-date in one swoop.

Alternately, Jamf's solutions ought to anticipate these gaps on Apple's part and provide us good practice solutions that don't necessitate a bunch of smart groups and policies. I wouldn't be complaining if, say, patch management handled this out of the box.

FWIW I posted in a similar thread about the results and am hopeful that someone has come up with a better way.