What are your software policy Scopes based on?

cassielevett
New Contributor

This is a best practice question. What are your software distrobution scopes based on?

I'm looking for the best way to scope out my software distribution and was curious how others were doing it. We were manually assigning departments but I found my colleagues reguarlly failing to do this. So I attempted to automate it by using LDAP info. Which provides its own challenges.

Is it based off Smart Groups? LDAP information? Manually assigned by JSS admins?

Thanks,
Cassie

8 REPLIES 8

itupshot
Contributor II

I'm using LDAP user groups as limitations for policies. These are policies that are available via Self Service. Policies that are more like admin maintenance tasks (Flash and Java updates), I just scope to all computers and are not visible to the end user.

I'm pretty new to Casper Suite, so I'm still working out what's best for our environment, but the above seems to work for me for now.

pblake
Contributor III

I use Departments for scope as well. I created a Smart group that looks if the department field is empty and I have it in my dashboard. I recommend my entire team to have it in theirs as well, so anyone can quickly see if department was forgotten.

benducklow
Contributor III

We primary use Smart Groups (Static Groups for pilot testing). We utilize a standard naming convention, so we have this Smart Group as our core standard in other Smart Groups... From there, we add other criteria such as package receipts (or lack of) and/or application and version information.

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

We generally use a mix of smart groups and static groups. We would like to have the utopia of a completely automated system but static groups are always more reliable and creating a complex systems of EAs and smart groups can be a recipe for trouble.

benducklow
Contributor III