Force Enable Google Chrome Automatic Updates

jwstyles
New Contributor II

Hey All,

Trying to build 3 policies for our JSS regarding the google chrome browser but I'm having 0 luck!

1: I need to force chrome installs with the automatic updater installed to run

2: I need to be able to install the automatic updater on machines that do not have it installed or configured but DO have chrome

3: I need to install chrome and have its automatic updater configured on for new enrollments.

I've got the policies figured out and the extension attributes in place to identify the presence of the automatic updater, I just can't get the programs to install correctly! I've tried composer and while I can get chrome to install, its automatic updater breaks and fails everytime it tries to go download a new version. I'm pretty new to Jamf and for that matter, the mac platform as a whole and we're just feeling a little stuck. Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks!

29 REPLIES 29

marklamont
Contributor III

article on google here explains it. not tried it yet but I am going to now I found it.

monaronyc
Contributor

We can't get it to work either. Either the documentation is outdated, or something with the latest version(s) of Google Chrome changed.

ryan_ball
Valued Contributor

Download the following script:
https://github.com/hjuutilainen/adminscripts/blob/master/chrome-enable-autoupdates.py

After a Chrome.app installation in a policy run the above script.

Done.

pblake
Contributor III

@marklamont has the right link. The tricky part is some of the files and the permissions on them.

jimmy-swings
Contributor II

Would it be as simple as this?

chown -R $currentUser "/Applications/Google Chrome.app"

andymcp
New Contributor III

I use a combination of the chrome-enable-autoupdates.py script above to first make sure the Chrome updater is working, then I force the Chrome updater to run using this script:

#!/bin/sh
## Script name:     run_chrome_updater.sh