Help testing my script to automatically enforce JSS computer names.

Newton
New Contributor

I am new to JSS and generally impressed with what I find. However I was disappointed to see that admin users can change their machine names. Since I have no authority to remove admin rights here and wanted to use smart groups based on names to dictate policy it concerned me.

I devised a script that uses a spare editable field in JSS (barcode_2) to store a backup of the desired computer name and enforces it as the active computer name. In this way of the name it changed, it gets changed back at login (or other trigger point).

It's my first bash script in a while and my first foray into the JSS API.

I'd like help from the community testing and improving it please. I'm unfamiliar with JAMFNation. What is the best/accepted approach for this? Do I post the script here? Or somewhere else?
After it is concluded I'm happy to upload to the general scripts tab, if allowed.

Specifically I'm looking for error condition checking, what versions of OSX it can be made to work on (dependency checking) and general improvements. How should I go about this?

Best Wishes
Matt

Edit reason: typo.

5 REPLIES 5

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

You can enter the script here in your post and preferably format it using the buttons above the post field (highlight just the script and click the script button, looks like a ">_" symbol)

But, before you script out something like this, you may not even need to do that since Casper has some functionality built in to rename a Mac based on the name the JSS has for its record. In some cases, you can run into an odd timing issue whereby the policy to rename it back may not run until after the Mac has already recon'ed itself (submitted inventory) back to the JSS with the new computer name, which means the JSS won't know what it should name it back to. But the basic functionality is built in, if you wanted to explore that first.