I'm a new system admin

binjali
Contributor

Hello Jamf Nation!

I'm a newly hired system admin for my organization. I have a lot of experience with Macs from with a desktop support background. I used to be a Genius.  I know how things used to be.

But I just started a new job as a Systems Admin, and one of my areas of responsibility is the care and feeding of our Jamf instance on behalf of our end users. and our Jamf isn't very happy.

I spent the 2 weeks before I started watching a lot of JNUC keynotes and 100 videos on Jamf's youtube channel. I feel like I have a handle on the possibilities of Jamf and I know that I can be successful!

But my environment is dysfunctional, and not very well documented and I don't know how to fix all the broken things without breaking my environment more.

How did all of you go about assessing your environments, and making plans on how to implement fixes.

Facts:

-Our prod environment is hosted on jamfcloud.

-We run Active Directory

-We have Exchange

-We have Apple Business

-We use Okta for ID/SSO (i think)

-There is Citrix products (pretty sure for VPN, not sure what else)

-We are working on an Office 365 migration

-There is a goal of getting all possible Macs onto 11.6.4 as a baseline for compliance and security.

-Jamf Self Service has some apps that succesfully deploy to some users, but not others and I don't know why

-Categories in Jamf feel/look messy and I don't think they are being used well

I just need some idea of next steps. How hard is it to get help from someone who knows what they are doing? are Jamf Environment audits a thing?

10 REPLIES 10

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@binjali See if your org will purchase a Jamf Training Pass for you. This will give you a year to take all of the Jamf certification courses, and besides improving your knowledge about how the Jamf Pro system works they will provide you a lot of ideas on how to improve your environment.