JAMF API - Export Serial Number and Computer Name to CSV file.

dwaterbury
New Contributor III

Hi Everyone,
I'm new to bash scripting and the JAMF API and need some help. I'm trying to export a csv file with the Serial Number (Column A) and Computer Name (Column B) so I can then import it nightly into our inventory system. I use the computer name to assign each computer and iOS device to that user so this will help confirm who has the device in the inventory.

I have figured out how to export the file, but it all seems to be in 1 cell. I'm looking for help on what I should do to break it apart. Thank you in advance.

!/bin/bash

server information

jamfUser="apiread"
jamfPass="apireadpassword"
jamfURL="https://jss.url:8443/JSSResource"

search computers and GET SerialNumbers and ComputerNames exported to csv file

apiData=$(/usr/bin/curl
--user "$jamfUser":"$jamfPass"
--header "Accept: text/xml"
--request GET
$jamfURL/computergroups/id/1 |
/usr/bin/xpath "/computer_group/computers" |
/usr/bin/xmllint --format - |
/usr/bin/grep -E "<serial_number>|<name>" |
/usr/bin/awk -F "<serial_number>|</serial_number>|<name>|</name>" '{ print $4,$2 }' )

echo $apiData --output
echo $apiData > ~/Desktop/computersList.csv

12 REPLIES 12

ryan_ball
Valued Contributor

@dwaterbury Do you want to have serial numbers and computer names for all Macs in the Jamf Pro Server exported into the CSV, or only those in a specific group?

ryan_ball
Valued Contributor

Here is something I've used for something else, but adapted it to get all Macs in the JSS for you. Seems like that is what you might want. You can modify that to only get serial and name, but if it is your inventory system you are trying to populate, you might consider exporting as much information as possible.

#!/bin/bash

jssUser="apiread"
jssPass='apireadpassword'
jssURL="https://jss.url:8443"
outputFile="$HOME/Desktop/computersList.csv"

echo "Downloading list of computer IDs..."