Need API Help - Return to Service

shafferc
New Contributor II

Hello,

I have extensive experience with Jamf Pro but one area I've never touched is the API. But now with the release of Return to Service (via the API) I want to at the very least script something so that I can use this feature to eliminate some of the tedious work.

I work at a school and as such have hundreds of devices to erase every school year and its very time consuming to manually enter Wifi credentials on all of them after wiping to re-enroll with Jamf Pro. Can someone help me with a script that will automate this process using the Return to Service API??? It would be much appreciated. Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6

ethanwenz
New Contributor II

You took the words right out of my mouth---er--- Google Search! I am trying to find some guidance on doing the same thing but feel out of my depth a bit. I will share the love if I find any progress!

ethanwenz
New Contributor II

I found this! I am not 100% sure it's what I want to do because it references asking for a device ID when I would like to enable this feature for all devices at any time. I'm too scared to test it myself....

ethanwenz
New Contributor II

Miff_Weaver
New Contributor II

Hey all,

Also in the same position haha! Thought I'd share a couple things I've found.

Kandji already have this built into their UI... hopefully Jamf will do the same real soon: 

From This I was able to locate where in the API Return to Service is and the info you need. MDM > Preview/MDM/Commands.

Change "Example Value to Schema", then follow the thread: commandData > EraseDeviceCommand > returnToService, you'll see the criteria there that you need to fill.

That's all I have... I haven't found a method of changing a WiFi network to a Base64 encrypted string... or MDM for that matter, so if anyone can point me in the right direction, that would be great!