Complete Beginner

WolcottOrg1
New Contributor

Hi everyone,

I'm new to my organization - I am a 60% computer science and 40% IT coordinator. I just started last September and 1/3 of our devices have JAMF, and 2/3 of our devices don't. The previous teacher was the only one who had knowledge of JAMF and she left early, so now I am overseeing our transition to JAMF.

I have no history with MDM, but I do have a computer science background. I was wondering if anyone had information about how to proceed and move forward.

I am thinking that I should take the 100 course and then take the 100$ exam for the 100 course, show this to my employer and then demonstrate that I should receive a training pass to take on JAMF. Then, I can be reimbursed for the exam and the training once she sees that this is a worthwhile investment. Is there anything else you all would recommend besides taking those 4 courses to get completely up to speed on JAMF?

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6

Sichas
Contributor

Hey there WolcottOrg1, welcome to the party :) The 100 + exam is a great idea to get the ball rolling, and yes absolutely you should try and get in to the Jamf 200 at the very least. (300 and 400 would probably be rough on absolute beginners, but with your computer science background you'll probably have an okay time with the scripting components of those courses)

If you are a subscription customer (If you're using Jamf Cloud, you probably are, but not necessarily) then you've also got full access to trainingcatalog.jamf.com which has some modular courses that you can do at your own leisure, similar to the 100. Lots of resources there too to get caught up!

Hope this helps a little!

rcarey
New Contributor III

Also don't forget to check out dogs.jamf.com as it can be a great resource for any stressful days!

WolcottOrg1
New Contributor

Thank you!