Changing the option names in Self-Service

rdeleon
New Contributor III

Hello all, I'm new to JAMF and I was wonder if there's a way to change the option names in Self-Service? For example, when you open Self-service and on the left you see HOME, BROWSE, NOTIFICATIONS, HISTORY as the default, is there a way I can change those to say something else? I'm sure there's a resolution to this, but I can't seem to find it. Thanks for the help.

4 REPLIES 4

r0blee
New Contributor III

Yes and no. 

So there is no method from within Jamf's self service branding/customisation to do this however once Self Service is downloaded to a device the actual menu bar names are stored in the "Localizable.strings" files for the various languages. 

So for example for the english strings file (if the device is set to use english that is) you would go to 

/Applications/Self Service.app/Contents/Resources/en.lproj/

In the Localizable.strings file there you will find a sections such as:

// Toolbar Buttons
"TOOLBAR_HOME" = "Home";
"TOOLBAR_BROWSE" = "Browse";
"TOOLBAR_BROWSE_COLLAPSED" = "Browse - Collapsed"; // Only announced via VoiceOver, never displayed in the UI
"TOOLBAR_BROWSE_EXPANDED" = "Browse - Expanded"; // Only announced via VoiceOver, never displayed in the UI
"TOOLBAR_HISTORY" = "History";
"TOOLBAR_NOTIFICATIONS" = "Notifications";
"TOOLBAR_NOTIFICATIONS_HELP_NONE" = "No New Notifications"; // Only announced via VoiceOver, never displayed in the UI
"TOOLBAR_NOTIFICATIONS_HELP_ONE" = "1 New Notification"; // Only announced via VoiceOver, never displayed in the UI
"TOOLBAR_NOTIFICATIONS_HELP_SOME" = "%d New Notifications"; // Only announced via VoiceOver, never displayed in the UI

and I'm 99% sure these are the variables you need to change but you'd need to do some testing.