Composer Packaged using Composer?

WindowsWarrior
New Contributor II

Hi All,

Just wondering if it's possible to package the Composer App using Composer?

I want this to be available to the other admins without having to bounce the download link and install?

Would they have to install the Jamf Pro package? Or can they only have access to the Composer app?

Any / All help & advice would be greatly appreciated.
(I'm new to this and learning as I go!)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Yeah, of course.

Just open Composer, and if you get a prompt to choose a package type, just click Cancel to get to the main window. You're not going to use any of the standard snapshot methods for this.

On your same Mac, open the Finder to Applications and drag the Composer.app into the sidebar of Composer itself. When you do this, like all other packaging methods, it copies the app or files into /Library/Application\ Support/JAMF/Composer/Sources/ including any supporting folders, so it will make a copy of itself into that directory. Name the resulting new source in the Composer sidebar if you need to, and then build it into a package.

But double check the owner/group and permissions on it before doing that. Sometimes they come in with a specific owner assigned and you want to correct it so it matches permissions for apps in the main Applications folder, like root/wheel for example.  But it should be as simple as that.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10

mm2270

Yeah, of course.

Just open Composer, and if you get a prompt to choose a package type, just click Cancel to get to the main window. You're not going to use any of the standard snapshot methods for this.