Casper Image (Composer) vs Mac Disk Utility (New Image)

lee_smith
Contributor

Hello Community,

I am new to Casper and this community. Our primary engineer accepted a position with another company and I have taken his position.

We are gearing up for summer projects and I am currently building a Mac OS X image. His instructions suggested we use the Mac Disk Utility instead of Composer to build the image. I am curious as to why.

I look forward to hearing from you all.

11 REPLIES 11

Josh_Smith
Contributor III

I think the majority of admins here would say that neither of those options are ideal. Imaging is a broad topic with many possible solutions, a great place to start is with this presentation from last year's JAMF Nation User Conference (JNUC): Unwrap the Imaging Enigma

Sandy
Valued Contributor II

Hi Lee!
Welcome to the Nation :)
For another perspective:
I use Composer for all packaging and image creation tasks and for our needs, everything works!
Mine is a K12 environment with 1800+ workstations from 2010 and newer, and about 2300 iPads.
I use net boot for re-imaging student computers, and have shifted over to a "no wipe" layered buildup for new OSX devices.
Sandy

dpertschi
Valued Contributor

Do you NEED a fully configured and updated, snap-shot-in-time, single file, old fashioned fat disk image? If yes (and there might be a few fringe use cases that this is still reasonable) then use Composer. It's got some basic built-in logic to ignore and omit some junk, Preferences > Exclusion List.

If that's not required, do some goggling on thin imaging.
- Get a copy of AutoDMG to create a base agnostic image from the "retail" App Store OS installer
- Get a copy of CreateUser to create a package of your preferred local admin account
- Get a script or package that suppresses iCloud and Diagnostiscs popups