Dock applications all ? (Question marks)

adam01
New Contributor

Hi,

After upgrading a suite of iMacs from Big Sur to Sonoma, the dock now has ? instead of applications. They do not work when clicked on.

I have read some posts on here but nothing has helped me understand where the problem is.

To be upfront I am new to Jamf Pro and this system was already setup before I looked at it.

I have gone to Settings, Computer management, Dock items. In there are entries for the dock items. Each one is currently in the same format and here is Google Chrome as an example:

file://localhost/Applications/Google%20Chrome.app/

Is this entry correct? Is there something else that controls that Dock that I am missing?

Adam

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
16 REPLIES 16

AJPinto
Honored Contributor II

Items in your dock are basically shortcuts/aliases. The references to the app they point two is broken, usually from the app being uninstalled. If its just one device, remove the items from the dock and put new copies back. If you are managing dock items, double check the paths in the policy to make sure nothing got moved.

adam01
New Contributor

Thanks for the reply. We are only wanting to use a managed dock as we need to make sure every user has the same.

The apps are 100% installed as we can run them by searching in spotlight.

What is the best method for checking the path? Dragging them to terminal? Also does this output not need to be modified for Jamf? For example if I do this with PowerPoint then the output is:

/Applications/Microsoft\ PowerPoint.app

But wouldn't Jamf want a %20 in the space?

Adam

adam01
New Contributor

Thanks for the reply. We are only wanting to use a managed dock as we need to make sure every user has the same.

The apps are 100% installed as we can run them by searching in spotlight.