FUT and FEU Basics

alex_drinkwater
New Contributor

Hi,

I'm new to Casper (hi) and I'm a bit confused about the Policy FUT and FEU options.

Do I just use Composer to capture user-level preferences etc. from whatever account I'm logged into, then create a DMG from the result, or do I have to place user items in a particular place?

Is it possible to mix user files and non-user in the same DMG?

Sorry for the silly questions, but this doesn't seem to be covered in the Casper manual.

Cheers,

a|x

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

First off, welcome!
Everything you asked is correct. You just package the captured items from whatever account you're logged in as, and Casper simply uses the home directory as a wildcard when it deploys them down instead of the actual home directory, so long as you keep it in DMG format.
And yes, you can include non user level files/folders along with user level ones. The FEU/FUT options only apply to anything in the /Users/ path, so something being dropped to say, /Applications/ will just be treated as is and placed into the Applications folder.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

First off, welcome!
Everything you asked is correct. You just package the captured items from whatever account you're logged in as, and Casper simply uses the home directory as a wildcard when it deploys them down instead of the actual home directory, so long as you keep it in DMG format.
And yes, you can include non user level files/folders along with user level ones. The FEU/FUT options only apply to anything in the /Users/ path, so something being dropped to say, /Applications/ will just be treated as is and placed into the Applications folder.

alex_drinkwater
New Contributor

Thanks for the super-fast reply, and the welcome!

That's great, it's really simple then. Excellent!

Thanks again,

a|x

Kprice
New Contributor III