Help making DEPNotify better

howie_isaacks
Valued Contributor II

I have been using DEPNotify since early 2019. Before using DEPNotify, I wrote a script that ran on enrollment that would install all of the apps and dock items. I have been happy with DEPNotify, but I have been wanting to add some informative information to display above the progress bar that shows the current activity. This information might be telling the user where to look in Self Service for instructions for configuring Outlook on their Mac, setting up their iPhone to send and receive email using their Microsoft 365 account, where to go to get help, etc. Right now, DEPNotify displays the same text that it started up with asking the user to register. I tried opening up a support ticket to get help with this, but apparently, this is too much to ask. Where do I make the modifications so that I can change what is being displayed in the DEPNotify app while the software installs are running? It would be nice to add graphics too. I have seen a lot of presentations at JNUC where the presenters are showing off what they have done with DEPNotify, but I have never seen any detailed documentation of how it was done. If someone has some documentation, I would appreciate getting it. Thanks!

13 REPLIES 13

Tribruin
Valued Contributor II

The DEPNotify application is open source and posted on GitLabs:

DEPNotify

If you are using the DEPNotify Starter Script, then look at the instructions, there are a number of different commands that are not all used in the Starter Script. You could adapt your script to adding graphics, embedding webpages. I have even heard of some organization embedding web games during the install process.

If you want to go deeper, you can always fork the actual application and make modifications.

howie_isaacks
Valued Contributor II