How to force and update for a specific application.

Bill_Hofius
New Contributor III

Hello!

I am new to JAMF and was thrown into the thick of things managing several hundred iPads and a couple of dozen Macs.

Regarding mobile devices, the organization I work for uses Lightspeed as their mobile POS. Several sites have reported issues processing credit card transactions. After reaching out the Lightspeed developer (not done by me), the folks at Lightspeed said to make sure that iOS and the Lightspeed app are up-to-date on the iPads.

I was under the impression that if there was an update to the application, JAMF would be aware of it, download it, and push it to all of the devices that have a Lightspeed profile. But it seems like it hasn't for all devices. On some of the devices, when the user opens Lightspeed, it reports an update is available.

What is the best way to push these updates out to these devices? Is it possible to force a single app to update?

Thanks!

11 REPLIES 11

dandjelk
New Contributor

Yes, you can force updates and is an option you can enable within the app setting in JAMF. One thing to note, and I'm not sure if they fixed it, is sometimes JAMF doesn't get the proper short version and will think that it's on the newest version when it's actually on an old version and it won't update properly. One way to be sure would be to double check the app version in the App Store and make sure it matches the short version in JAMF.

harsha
New Contributor III

Hi dandjelk,

Can I know where is the option to force update in jamf pro for security or software updates?

atomczynski
Valued Contributor

You can use individual app settings or global settings. Global settings will control for all apps.

App Settings:
Mobile Devices: Mobile Device Apps: (App name)

Schedule Jamf Pro to automatically check the App Store for app updates
(select the region and time)
Automatically Force App Updates

Global settings (for all apps):