iOS Update Best Practices

Not applicable

Hello all, I’ve been managing mobile devices for several years now but only recently (~6 months) moved to Jamf for enterprise wide management. Our device pool currently sits at just over 3,000 iPads, spread over multiple buildings with 2-3x more devices being added soon.

Having prior MDM experience I’ve taken to Jamf well, but there are a few things that are still being tweaked. Like iOS system updates. Like many orgs, we haves config profile requiring passcodes for security. Our devices are on Wi-Fi during the day, and toggle between Wi-Fi and Cellular data in the evening.

Our current workflow works-ish, but I’m looking to change it up for better results in upgrading to iPadOS 13. Any suggestions/advice (preferably based on best practices) would be stellar!

Current upgrade workflow:

•Using test devices, manually perform the update so that Apple cache servers can cache the update per network segment.
•Scope devices based by site and issue passcode reset command.
•Wait 15 mins, then issue update OS command to download and automatically install update.

Thank you!

3 REPLIES 3

thejenbot
Contributor III

What are the results you're seeing? You say it works-ish and you want better results, but what's actually happening in your environment. I ask because I struggle with iOS updates as well, finding that I need to clear the passcode, have the device plugged in to power, and the lid to the case open in order for it to even have a snowball's chance in hell. It has gotten worse over the years and I know this isn't the first time I've made a comment to that effect on this forum, so I'd check to see if this isn't sort of a duplicate (it happens). But I am curious how it's going for others that have gone or are going from iOS to iPadOS, so figured I'd comment to bump this back into the feed :)

sdecook
Contributor