Jamf-migrator tool

scottlep
Contributor II

JAMF newbie here. This is my first post ever on JN...yay! Been using Munki for years, changed jobs and now I am becoming a JAMF guy. Ha. Anyway.........

Has anyone used the jamf-migrator tool? (https://github.com/jamfprofessionalservices/JamfMigrator)

When doing a migration, is the migrated data removed from the source server when it is moved to the destination?

Thanks!
Scott

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

dan-snelson
Valued Contributor II

@scottlep In my limited experience, data is not removed from the source server; I recommend a mysqldump on source and destination prior to running jamf-migrator to be on the safe side.

View solution in original post

talkingmoose

Data won't be deleted from the source server. It'll only be copied to the target server.

View solution in original post

23 REPLIES 23

dan-snelson
Valued Contributor II

@scottlep In my limited experience, data is not removed from the source server; I recommend a mysqldump on source and destination prior to running jamf-migrator to be on the safe side.

talkingmoose

Data won't be deleted from the source server. It'll only be copied to the target server.

scottlep
Contributor II

Awesome. That is what I thought.

Yes @dan.snelson , mySQL BU before the migration of course ;)

Thanks All!

mark_mahabir
Valued Contributor

I wasn't even aware of it until you mentioned it here.....

This will be extremely useful to us, so thank you very much!

josh_jagdfeld
New Contributor II

Welcome to the Nation, @scottlep! Glad to have you here.

myronjoffe
Contributor III

I have used a different JSS Migration tool with great success in the past.
https://www.jamf.com/blog/make-your-jss-feel-new-again-with-the-help-of-api/

How does the JAMF tool compare? Also, I noticed you can migrate the endpoints in the JAMF version. How does this work with FV keys, cert based trusts between JAMF instance etc?

talkingmoose