JamfDaemon - noticeable CPU usage

planetf1
New Contributor

Hi, I'm a developer & know relatively little about jamf.

I've noticed that in just under a day and a far, the JamfDaemon process has consumed around 75 minutes of CPU time, which is quite noticeable.

The jamf log shows just a typical hourly policy check.

How can I get more logging to determine what the daemon is doing? Any typical candidates?

A peek with 'truss' just shows a lot of stat() calls (like 1000 PER SECOND) against various files in my system - was Xcode, then git. Once might think it's a scan but it never appears to progress or calm down even after days

18 REPLIES 18

ThijsX
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

@planetf1 Do you have Nessus Agent binary in installed on your system?

The combination of Nessus Agent and the JamfDaemon active caused some CPU trouble at some of our devices

/Library/NessusAgent/run/sbin/nessuscli

KyleEricson
Valued Contributor II

I have the same issue with one user. As soon as I re-enroll it into Jamf the CPU goes through the roof. I have Nessus and Sophos Cloud AV. I have tried removing Sophos and same issue. Going to try Nessus removal next.

Read My Blog: https://www.ericsontech.com

ThijsX
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

@kericson let me know the result!

NathanH
New Contributor

Hi All,
I have experienced this issue on a handful of machines on both 10.14.X and 10.15X
In every case, the Nessus agent was the cause. Once removed the daemon CPU usage returned to normal.

Thank you,
Nathan

KyleEricson
Valued Contributor II

@txhaflaire I removed the Nessus Agent and the issue went away.

Madmax85
New Contributor III