JSS on Windows (2012R2)

PeterG
Contributor II

I have a question for anyone else running their JSS on a windows server.
Do you have it set to periodically reboot? Do you have any issues when it has 'been up too long'?

I have two instances of our JSS, one to serve inside the network and one that serves outside.
We get reports from time to time that people can't use this service or that... something funky. We reboot the server and all is OK.

I am thinking that periodic reboots might be good but was wondering what everyone else is doing.
Do you experience this same issue? Did you find it was something in your config that causes it to 'sour'?

10 REPLIES 10

shakim
New Contributor III

Yes, I'm running my JSS on Windows 2012 R2. I'm not experiencing this issue. With that said, our servers are patched and rebooted on a monthly schedule. I have a Master with two web app servers.

tak10
Contributor II

We have three JSS running in our environment. One internal and two DMZ. The internal one which is the primary one usually stops working once in a while. I've been tweaking the Tomcat settings but unable to find the right match for it. In our case, tomcat just crashes and service is stopped.

To mitigate this issue, I have a scheduled batch file running around 5 AM to restart Tomcat service. This seems to mitigate the issue.

Our servers are patched and rebooted on a monthly basis but the issue still happens.

Josh_Smith
Contributor III

I ran a JSS on 2012 R2 for two years, never had to reboot it because of an issue. It was rebooted monthly after patching, and taken down for JSS upgrades, but otherwise ran great. MySQL was on a separate RedHat box.

Taylor_Armstron
Valued Contributor

No issues here. Ours probably gets rebooted about every 4-6 weeks, depending on what patches are needed for Windows itself. No complaints.

m_donovan
Contributor III