Local Admin Password

Raiders18
New Contributor II

Hi Everyone!

In our environment, we have DEP managed MacBooks with a management account that has a username of administrator and a password we set to be used to help use as an admin account on all machines.

We have a policy running to change the management account password with one we set, but we have some computers that fail to run the policy and give an error of "Error: The Managed Account Password could not be changed."

I know I've seen a few posts saying this is an issue with machines running 10.14.x or some other OS issue, but we've been able to update the passwords on machines running any OS, and see this issue happening among various OS's as well.

I'm a bit of a novice to Jamf/Macs in general, but am hoping to get any insight I can into any solutions/leads!

We have FileVault enabled for both the administrator and local user account and most drives are AFPS or Mac Journaled.

Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4

jcarr
Release Candidate Programs Tester

I think you may be confusing 'management account' and 'administrator account.'

Generally speaking, the 'management account' is the account used by Jamf Pro to execute management tasks on managed devices. Personally, I think best practice is to have this password set to a random value on all managed devices (Jamf Pro will know what the password is, and that is all that is required.):

44c2025fb36c4c4cb1f68ff6d825ba96

As for the administrator account, if you so choose, you can set this to a fixed value in the PreStage enrollment (in 'Account Settings,' check the 'Create an additional local administrator account' checkbox:

ad87581cdf3e4ca8bee6f7b5dc17efd3