More API help needed

blackholemac
Valued Contributor III

I want to apologize in advance...I am going to be taking the CJA course very soon and am looking forward to learning more about the back-end of JAMF databases and the API. I'm a bit of a noob with the API.

Would someone know how to take an Excel CSV formatted with the following: Device Name (column1), Serial Number (column 2), Building, (column 3), Room Number (column 4).

I want to take this spreadsheet and use the API to add the info contained in columns 3 and 4 to the JSS. There may be existing data there in the JSS and I would like it to be overwritten.

I know this isn't McD's where I put in an order and receive it, but I hope someone here will take pity on me and teach me how to do this as it will help us with would could have been a bad data entry task. I know you can do Building with a mass action, but I can't do that with room number necessarily and this is why I want to go the API route.

Thank you to any kind souls in advance,
blackholemac

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

stevewood
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

@blackholemac the below should work for you. It was the script I used to update lease data here, I just adjusted it to work with mobile devices to update Building and Room. I tested here and it seemed to work fine.

This script will not handle spaces in the names of the building or room, so you'll either need to scrub the data or work around that.

Since you are not using the device name in the script, you do not have to have that in the CSV file. This is written to the specs you stated above, so it will take the device name, but nothing is done with it.

Make sure the CSV file is saved as a UNIX file with LF and not CRs. You will also need to edit the script to add your JSS server address.

This is designed to run from the Terminal by passing the api user name and password along with the CSV file name. Make sure the CSV is in the same folder as the script.