New to Patch Management

CLG
Contributor

Hi All,

We are running JAMF Pro on the local server / on prem "Windows Server" (not the cloud version). I want to use the Patch management to update the Apps (Chrome, Firefox VLC Office apps etc..), macOS etc..

I'm new to this is there any way I can get some help to set up this? Article videos etc..

10 REPLIES 10

AJPinto
Honored Contributor III

Jamf Patch Management is pretty straight forward. Jamf maintains a list of "policies" with the appropriate extension attributes to manage patching. You upload a package, and define it as a specific version of an application, define the scopes and Jamf does the rest. Patch Management was replaced by Jamf "Mac Apps" last year so there is not much currently discussed on Patch Management. 

Is there anything specific you are needing to know or need help with?

https://learn.jamf.com/en-US/bundle/jamf-pro-documentation-current/page/PatchManagement.html

Yep, It's Chrome Updates 🤣 I need to update Chrome on all the iMacs in our network using this service.
In the Mac app I can't find Chrome and The MacOS updates  (Please note that We are on on Prem server) our JAMF pro running on 11.7

AJPinto
Honored Contributor III

It should be in there. If it's not pulling up when you search a for chrome when making a new policy you may have already created one. Patch Management will not let you have two policies for the same application.

AJPinto_0-1723076050948.png

Yes Did manage to set a policy Thanks

Do you know why I get this error? 

CLG_1-1723077573300.png

AJPinto
Honored Contributor III

I do not. Does it mount the DP for Policies?

If the network folks could be talked into it, you may want to consider configuring your DP to use HTTPS for downloads instead of SMB/AFP, the advantage of this is that HTTPS DP obviously no longer needs to be mounted for downloads. SMB works ok for me, but I've got qa decent relationship with the network guy and he's open to config changes.