Questions on creating a test enviornment

therealmacjeezy
New Contributor III

I am new to the Casper Suite and JSS and was finally able to start testing it at my work. I've been doing a lot of reading and trying to learn as much as possible on the suite and JSS but I realize it's easy to get lost and was hoping I could get some advice or some tips from you guys. Here's the current setup.

Mac/Windows Environment. Bound to AD and Smartcard Enforced (no user passwords). Managed with Absolute. DS makes the images and OS X Server hosts the NetBoot for our team. Centrify is installed on the Macs but is only good for logging in and getting Kerberos tickets for outlook and Lync. Everything else we have to use a VM.

Testing goal: Setup Casper and the JSS for a handful of machines that are all on the same network, same office and pretty much one cubical over from each other. That way I can make slim images and use the JSS to distribute apps that are needed. (I would love to get away from Centrify and binding with AD for Macs and just use profiles to make it compliant)

new Current progress: A setup that would make MacGiver proud and others possibly cringe. But I have Self Serve, Admin and JSS all setup and working with all the test devices.

Is it possible to have configure the JSS so only our team (3 other people total) can access it without having to reach out to the admins who oversee the DNS server?