Recon Uses

DavidWallace
New Contributor

Sorry If this seems like somewhat of a dumb question, I'm new to this whole JAMF thing. So here is my issue We currently have the Casper suite with roughly 600 Macs on the inventory. I know we have easily 1000 Mac desktops and 1000 ipads but sense I work for higher education different departments tend to go out and buy Macs without letting anyone knowing. Is there a way for Casper to identify a Mac that connects to the network and add it to the Managed inventory? If so then how? If not then will recon resolve this issue? Again if so than how? Thank you for the help I will be attending a CCT course here shortly so maybe it will clear things up there but I want to get a head start on this situation.

4 REPLIES 4

chriscollins
Valued Contributor

@DavidWallace hey David, so there is no way to have Casper automatically add in unmanaged machines in the way you would want. The recon app can scan the network looking for machines with SSH turned on and try to use credentials that you provide to remotely log into the machine and enroll it into Casper. But that depends on SSH being turned on on the machine already, and you knowing an admin password on that machine.

The only other ways to get machines enrolled are either through a quick add package that you install on the machines remotely via something like Remote Desktop or manually at the computer (which both still require you to know admin credentials on the machine), To launch recon locally on the machine which you also have to know admin credentials, or lastly, you can have the user self enroll (assuming they are admins on their machine) by going to the self enrollment URL and downloading a quick add package.