Rename Computer Policy Not Functioning Effectively in Casper Suite

AFlandez
New Contributor

Hello JAMF Nation. I am a newbie to Casper Suite and behind learning curve as well. Any ideas on what to troubleshoot when using Casper Suite (Rename Computer Poilcy) to change Mac Computer Host Name? It seems that it takes more than 20+ minutes or doesn't change computer name when on System Preferences > File Sharing of Mac client. I'm not sure if it's network, policy (advanced setting), or setting on Mac system after enrolling to Casper Suite. Any help is greatly appreciated.

6 REPLIES 6

davidacland
Honored Contributor II
Honored Contributor II

Hi,

In the policy logs, is the policy running at all on the target computer?

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

@AFlandez which OS? I've been having fun renaming 10.10 macs.. But using scutil commands.

AFlandez
New Contributor

@davidacland - Yes, the policy targets All Computers. In General Tab the Execution Frequency is set to Once Per Computer.

@Bentoms - Our environment utilizes version 10.7 - 10.10 for older to newer MBP and Mac Airs.

strider_knh
Contributor II

What is your trigger? If the trigger is at Check-in then you have to wait for the computer to check-in itself so that length of time will be determined by your check-in frequency, default is 15 minutes. They don't always check-in at exactly 15 minutes, it can vary.

Also, the "Reset Computer Name" just changes it to what is listed in the JSS. If the station checks-in with the JSS before you run the policy then it will update the JSS with the computer's current name and when the policy runs it will not change the name to what you wanted it to be.

This is the experience I have had when updating names using the "Reset Computer Name' feature. Also, this will not update the name used for any AD/OD binding that you might have. That will remain what was used when the station was bound.

AFlandez
New Contributor