Restrict Keychain Access to Admin

Chuey
Contributor III

Hello,

Staff are admins of their own machines. Is there a way to restrict access to the keychain manager?

Thanks in advance

12 REPLIES 12

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

You could create a Restricted Software setting (see Casper Admin Guide - Restricted Software ) to prevent them from running Keychain Access

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

@Chuey What is it your wanting to stop access to?

Restricting the app will not restrict the command line (the security command).

Chuey
Contributor III

@sdagley I thought about restricting the app process by PID. I was wondering though if I restrict access to it, when a user goes to save a password in keychain, will it kill that process in the background and not allow it to save?

@bentoms We have issues with staff giving out WiFi passwords to our main network that communicates with servers, etc. If I'm an admin and know what I'm doing, I can go into Keychain and unlock the WiFi keychain password to view. I'd like to restrict them from being able to view that. I'm not too concerned about them being able to access it via command line.

I guess my question is, could I block the process by Restricted Software and still be able to store passwords in KeyChain when visiting web pages, etc?

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

@chuey are the users admins?

Chuey
Contributor III

@bentoms Yes, they are admins.

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II