Virtual Machine keeps on disappearing from JSS

RobertAlviar
New Contributor II

Hello Jamf Nation,

this is my first time posting here and i am a complete newbie to Casper.

i have a linked clone virtual machine (using Parallels Desktop 11) and i enrolled it to JSS.
i use this vm for software testing.
after few days when i try to search for the computer name of the vm it will no longer show in JSS. i am sure i did not un-enroll the vm.

and all i do is re-enroll it to JSS and it will show up again.

it happens to all 3 vm that is running OS X 10.9, 10.10 & 10.11.

please advise, thanks! :)

• Robert
10 REPLIES 10

bpavlov
Honored Contributor

Even if you remove the framework from the computer (which I don't think you're doing), it should not remove it from the JSS. So the question then becomes how are you searching for it within the JSS?

thoule
Valued Contributor II

Are you using sites? It wouldn't appear if searching a different site. But otherwise, the only way to remove a computer from the JSS is to manually delete it (or API delete it).

RobertAlviar
New Contributor II

@bpavlov i am searching it the usual sir. i click Computers then made sure the search drop down list is set to Computers. please see attached screenshot.13027690651f4206b8a11b410a909207

RobertAlviar
New Contributor II

@thoule not using sites sir. and i have no rights on removing a computer from JSS yet.
for now i tried to re-enroll my 3 VMs to JSS using the ff: commands below respectively:

which jamf = it gave a result path which tells me that the binary is installed on the linked clone vm.
sudo jamf enroll -prompt
sudo jamf recon
sudo jamf policy
sudo jamf manage
sudo jamf recon

am i doing it right?

--Robert :)

Chris_Hafner
Valued Contributor II

If you follow the prompts after

sudo jamf enroll -prompt

then you should be good. Policies will run when scheduled or otherwise triggered, and the unit is recon'ed and managed during the enrollment... we'll normally it would anyways.