Microsoft Authenticator, Azure SSO for iOS, and Jamf in K-12 Education (Any Advice, Please!)

texchnologist
New Contributor

New Jamf Tech here!
I am currently looking for a way to streamline our Summer refresh and deployments. Our acting Jamf admin is great, but stays busy with several things, so I really want to try to make things better for our students and also just teach myself something.

The short version: We use a 1-1 model that functions on a rotation using stock out of a warehouse. It's fine, but we face a lot of bottlenecks that slow down the process when thousands of devices need to be deployed or refreshed. Seeing as how I am new to all this, I may get confusing, so I apologize!!

Overall, I want our devices to be able to fall into any students hands at any grade level 95% configured then finish with a short checkout/single sign in process. 
After it's set up, it's used the entire school year or until it is ready to be wiped. 

I have heard that Jamf Reset & Setup in education works well and I think that could work towards my goal, but I also saw a session at JNUC where they spoke of using those two apps in the healthcare field and how it could be used alongside Microsoft Authenticator (SSO with Azure) and I believe (forgive my memory) they said something about using this in conjunction with Jamf to have the iPad name itself a role name given in Azure...? 
I don't quite know if I could make that work in the k-12 setting since I wouldn't want it to be named a role, but instead assign the students username (maybe I could use a Variable?), in the hope of populating their info. I have a general idea of what I hope and any feedback/help would be great.

Here's the general idea:
Once the iPads have gone through the pre-stage and downloaded all the common apps that will be used across all campuses,