Changing Language Preference

fdechirico
New Contributor

Hello All

I am new to JSS and was wondering if there is a simple way to change the language preference?

What is the best way to push the policy?

Basically we want to enforce french OS on some maverick computers.

thanks
FD

17 REPLIES 17

justinworkman
Contributor

I don't know that much about changing localizations. But I have discovered if you run a script that does the following, you should get what you want.

defaults write /Library/Preferences/.GlobalPreferences AppleLanguages fr
defaults write /Users/*loggedinuser*/Library/Preferences/.GlobalPreferences AppleLanguages fr

You can either force a reboot or a ```
killall Finder
``` to see the changes.

At least this works on my stuff. Let me know how it goes. I'd be glad to keep working on a solution for this. It's interesting...

bentoms
Release Candidate Programs Tester

Here's an old post I have on this; http://macmule.com/2011/03/02/setting-user-os-language-post-install-from-casper/

Never got around to scripting it, hope it helps.

justinworkman
Contributor

Duplicate

justinworkman
Contributor

bentoms, that post looks spot on. Based on the fiddling I've been doing, it should still work for Mavericks.

fdechirico
New Contributor

does the maverick i'm using composer with need to be the same build as the mavericks i'm pushing the policy out to?

justinworkman
Contributor

I think typically that's a "best practice." Having said that, I think that since the information is pretty much the same from 10.6 to 10.9, it shouldn't matter too much.

fdechirico
New Contributor

Hi Guys

So this is what im doing.

1) im on a maverick machine running composer. I run the command sudo languagesetup –langspec French , and /usr/bin/defaults write -g AppleLanguages "(fr)" so now my OS is french.

2) i then open up composer and go to user enviroment and choose Global Preference.