Day in the life of a Mac sysadmin....

ianmb
Contributor

Hi folks,

I'm not sure if this has been done before....

I thought it'd be interesting to hear from others wrt how you spend you spend your working days. As I am fairly new to the Mac sysadmin scene, some of you may identify things that I should be doing :-)

Looking for things along the lines of; How does your typical day run? Do you work to a daily/weekly/monthly checklist? What are your highest priorities? What would you like to be doing, but never have the time
for? How much time do you devote to maintenance (what sort?), security, administration etc.?

Looking forward to your responses!

3 REPLIES 3

michaelmcgaw
New Contributor III

Good post, @ianmb!

I'm in the same position being a new Mac sysadmin. What might also be useful is to know some of the web resources you experienced sysadmins use on a regular basis in your job.

dpertschi
Valued Contributor

Ok, I'll play along…

Keep in mind "Mac sysadmin" is a hugely broad title. Context in scope of responsibility is key for comparison sake.

Managed service provider, commercial global business ops, operating as a Tier 3 engineer, SME, with sole responsibility for clients Casper application and infrastructure (1100 clients, 15 DPs), client OS image design/development/deployment, software packaging/deployment, patch management, escalated user support, project management.

Start 8AM

Spend an hour caffeinating while scanning my preferred news sites (MacIntouch, MacRumors, MacEnterprise, Twitter). You've got to keep up on what's going in the industry. Are you aware of and keeping an eye on the news about the FREAK flaw?

Respond to e-mails, and dive deeper into current JAMFnation discussions that interest me.
"ohh look, now Oracle is screwing us over"; re-read Rich's articles and test in my environment.

Spot check current patch management policy logs for failures or anomalies.

Handle emergencies escalated from colleagues and/or client, consult, advise.