How to update iOS?

clittle
New Contributor II

I have a chance to update some iPods from 8.4 to 8.41. I have never updated the iOS before and looking around I am wondering how its done. I want to make this as touchless as possible. I would love for the devices just to sit in their chargers and I push out the update over night and everything is done in the AM.

I have been looking at the KBase articles but not found anything yet. Anyone help me out on this one.

Thanks!

6 REPLIES 6

victor_wong
New Contributor
New Contributor

Hi clittle

I'm new to JAMF Software and Nation, hence this will be my first post to a thread :)

Firstly before you update, i'd recommend that you perform a device backup to your iCloud or iTunes account.
Click this link for steps on how to back up your devices.
https://support.apple.com/en-au/HT203977

When that is done, you got a couple of options to update your iOS devices:
1. Update your device wirelessly (also referred as 'over the air' update)
or
2. Update your device using iTunes
Click this link for steps on how to update your iOS devices
https://support.apple.com/en-au/HT204204

I would recommend updating your devices 'over the air', it is the easiest and most painless way to update your iOS devices, all you need is an internet connection enabled on the device(s) you intend to update (strongly recommend Wi-Fi as mobile data will eat up your data allowance) , I'll list the steps on this post but you can also click on the link above for your reference.
1. Plug in your device to a power source
2. On your iOS device open the 'settings' app, navigate to 'General' then tap 'Software Update'
3. Tap 'Download and Install'. Updates might download automatically while your device is connected to Wi-Fi and a power source.
4. Tap 'Install', or tap Later if you wish to install the update later. If you use a passcode, you'll need to enter it before installing the update.

Hope this was helpful :)

clittle
New Contributor II