Script to set Asset Name to Computer name and enable Dynamic Host Name

DanVT
New Contributor III

Hi All,

I am fairly new to scripting and am humbly requesting help.  

We use the following script to rename the Computer Name to Asset Name(via what is uploaded in Inventory Preload).  What I found, is I also need this script to enable Dynamic Host Name and set that name to that same Asset Name.  I cannot get that last piece to work and believe it was incorrect, so I have removed it and asking the community.

Here is the script I am using to set Computer Name to Asset, which has been working great.  I am hoping to be able to use this same script and add the piece to enable naming of the Dynamic Host name as well.

#!/bin/bash

#set the variables for the server and API account

jssUser=UserName
jssPass=PW
jssHost=https://tenantname.jamfcloud.com

#get the serial number

serialNumber="$(ioreg -l | grep IOPlatformSerialNumber | sed -e 's/.*\"\(.*\)\"/\1/')"

#get the asset tag from jamf

assetTag=$(/usr/bin/curl -H "Accept: text/xml" -sfku "${jssUser}:${jssPass}" "${jssHost}/JSSResource/computers/serialnumber/${serialNumber}/subset/general" | xmllint --format - 2>/dev/null | awk -F'>|<' '/<asset_tag>/{print $3}')

# set computer name

if [ "$assetTag" == "" ]; then
echo "Asset Tag is empty. Exiting..."
exit 1
else
/usr/sbin/scutil --set HostName "$assetTag"
/usr/sbin/scutil --set LocalHostName "$assetTag"
/usr/sbin/scutil --set ComputerName "$assetTag"
fi

/usr/local/jamf/bin/jamf recon

I appreciate any help!  

6 REPLIES 6

DBrowning
Valued Contributor II

try adding this line: 

sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.smb.server NetBIOSName "$assetTag"

DanVT
New Contributor III

Thank you!  I will give this a shot.  One question, I assume since this is running this with sudo privileges, I would have to modify my API account possibly, or should it be ok?

DBrowning
Valued Contributor II