Variable Parameters to Change Computer Name via script.

smithdr
New Contributor III

Hello all,

I'm new to scripting, trying to learn as I go. One project that I need to complete is to create a script that changes the computer name to a specified naming convention. the name would include serialnumber and the site that the computer is located at. I'm having a hell of a time trying to get Parameter 4 to pass through $SERIALNUMBER.

Can anyone provide me with an example of how I can implement the variable parameters into my script correctly? I couldn't find quite what I'm looking for in other discussions.

Thank you!

15 REPLIES 15

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Hi. I would not look at using a script parameter to pass the serial number to the script, since you can easily grab that information within the script when it runs and store it as a variable to use later when (re)naming the Mac.

Script parameters are intended to pass something that would apply to any machine its being run on. Since the Serial Number is obviously different on each Mac, that's not a good place to try to plug it into the script.

For example, within your computer naming script, you can easily capture the Mac serial number in a few different ways. The one I tend to use is below

SerNum=$(ioreg -rd1 -c IOPlatformExpertDevice | awk -F'"' '/IOPlatformSerialNumber/{print $4}')

Later you would use the variable $SerNum as the stored serial number in the naming portion of the script. That would be up to you to figure out since I don't know what other naming convention stuff you need to include in the name.

mm2270

smithdr
New Contributor III

Thanks @mm2270 ! The amount of time it would have taken me to get to that point is astounding. I really appreciate it.