Active Directory and MacOS...how does it work?

cjohnpmllc_com
New Contributor II

Hi All,

I'm just confused on how this all works. I'm primarily a Windows Admin so please forgive me. So I have a few macs now on my environment. I've tried to bind the machine to my AD by the Login Options. If I go to Terminal and type dsconfigad -show, it shows my AD forest/domain/computer account. And there is a computer object in my AD for this computer. In that sense, I believe the computer object is good.

However, when I look at the user accounts, initially the passwords were all the same (in AD and local to the machine). We have a policy that the AD user account passwords need to be changed every 90 days. This is where the issues come up. For some reason, user accounts don't appear to synchronize the passwords after that change. They now would have two passwords (local password and the network AD password). Any ideas on how to fix this? Let me know if you need anymore info, thanks!

10 REPLIES 10

jason_bracy
Contributor III

If there were users accounts prior to joining AD, then those accounts remain local and do not follow the policy for Domain accounts. My process to convert from Local to domain account is:

1. Login as a local admin (not the account that you want to convert)
  2. Go to “System Preferences / Users and Groups”
  3. Delete the local account, but select the option to leave the home folder
  4. In the Finder go to /Users/ and change the name of the deleted user folder from “userid (Deleted)” to “userid”
  5. In the terminal enter the following command: sudo chown -R userid:"Domain Users" /Users/userid/
  6. Log out and log in as “userid” with your domain password
  7. You will need to sync your keychain password

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III