API output just one long string?

mroe
New Contributor III

I just started playing with the API recently so I could make reporting/automation scripts easier, but every time I use it to GET (with Curl on a ubuntu box if that matters) an advanced search group I made, I get a long single line string if I use the default (XML) and if I try JSON, there is a giant multiline header and then again, a giant single line string that would be normal JSON if it where actually spaced. Because of the output I can't parse anything effectively.

What am I doing wrong?

Side note, can we really not export data as a CSV from the API even though we can get it from the GUI?

5 REPLIES 5

mm2270
Legendary Contributor III

Yes, you get a long string of XML (or JSON) by default. To get the output printed out in a nice format, for XML pipe the output through xmllint. Example:

curl -H "Accept: application/xml" -su "username:password" https://your.jamf.pro.url:8443/JSSResource/computers | xmllint --format -

If using JSON, you can use python's json.tool to do the same thing. Example:

curl -H "Accept: application/xml" -su "username:password" https://your.jamf.pro.url:8443/JSSResource/computers | python -m json.tool

Edit: Regarding your second question, yes, it's currently not possible to get data from the API directly as a csv export. It can be done, but takes some manipulation to get it into that format. It's a bit too much to get into right now. I can say though that a Jamf employee had posted something not long ago that uses a scripted process to convert API info into a csv format. If I can locate that post again, I'll mention it here for reference.

mroe
New Contributor III

Thanks a bunch mm2270! I didn't realize I needed to run the output through anything else for a good format (My first time playing with API's if you couldn't tell). My output look a lot better and manageable now!