Avast for business DMG repack?

WBS
New Contributor III

Hello Im trying to deploy avast through caspersuite to our macs when we image them and what not and its not working correctly. I was wondering how you guys do something like that? I talked to avast support and they said to use a repackaged installer, I am fairly new to mac so unsure on how to do that. is there a tool to use to do such a thing?

I use the DMG from the avast for business portal and its set up with correct info however using composer it doesnt like to work correctly.

18 REPLIES 18

andrew_nicholas
Valued Contributor

What's included in the DMG? If it's like the free version, than it just to appears to be a custom pkg file than can be drag and dropped into Admin.

WBS
New Contributor III

Thats what I tried to do and doing that then puts the installer on the image but then i have to install it, im trying to have it silent install at some point in the image.

andrew_nicholas
Valued Contributor

Did you drag the DMG file or the PKG file contained within the DMG?

WBS
New Contributor III

I got the PKG within the DMG and it just adds the installer on the image.

andrew_nicholas
Valued Contributor

Where does it place the installer on the image?

WBS
New Contributor III

when you go to computer it just had it as a pkg file just like when you open the dmg

WBS
New Contributor III

Im going to download a fresh copy of the dmg and throw the pkg file in admin and see what it does when i image.

WBS
New Contributor III

So i got a new copy and tried with the DMG and the PKG that was in the dmg neither worked as i wanted.Any ideas?

JamesHarwood
New Contributor

Any progress? I can add, the DMG has a config.tar file the package reaches out too.

WBS
New Contributor III