Computername creation with specific format

ESK-IT-Infra
New Contributor II

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to JAMF but at my company, we need to make our Macs computernames similar to the ones of our Windows machines.
Let's say Windows machines are named like WIN180001 where WIN is fixed, 18 is the current year and 0001 is an increasing number per new machine, reset per year.

Did someone already come across something similar? I found a lot of articles on creating a script to use the serial or but never with some increasing number.

I'm looking for a solution where we can create MAC180001 for instance now.
The fixed part and the year should be easy, but the incremental part is difficult for me.
Is there a way to get the last installed device and increment the last 4 digits with 1 for this? Or is there a easier solution for this?

Your help is more than appreciated :)

We're almost there with our setup, this is just one of the remainders on our to do list.

Thanks,

Stijn.

5 REPLIES 5

rderewianko
Valued Contributor II

Okay, this sounds like a fun task.

Two ways that you could go about it. One, is hopping on github and finding a hit counter, and having every client curl that site (which then increments upon every hit)
https://github.com/coopermaa/hit-counter-demo running something like that... you'd then curl it, and get a response... based on the response you scrape for the value.

Or if you've got a simple webserver running PHP https://github.com/ericsizemore/simple_counter this may work too.

The second, maybe using something like:
Starting with something like: https://www.jamf.com/jamf-nation/discussions/7052/how-to-obtain-the-value-of-a-certain-extension-attribute-through-the-api

and then incrementing that value locally and then updating the ea... (this could get messy if you've got mulitple machines imaging at the same time)

ryan_ball
Valued Contributor