Computers not showing in scope

dbarry722
New Contributor III

Hi Folks.

I'm new to Jamf and having a bit of a head scratcher

I've registered 6 iMac via the Apple Configurator method to make the managed by the school and when I look under prestage I can see them. When I click on computers and search for the, I can see them but then I run into a problem

I've set up a static group and in the scope I've attempted to add the computers but I can only see 4 of the computers even though the system tell me there are 6.

Anyone any ideas as to why I can't see the other two computers.

As I test, I erased one and enrolled it again using the Apple Configurator then installed the remote Management Profile. This one I can now see in the static group scope.

Baffled?

Any assistance greatly appreciated

Declan

3 REPLIES 3

karthikeyan_mac
Valued Contributor

You can add computers to static computers only after the device is enrolled. Did you compelete the  pre-stage enrollment in all 6 devices? You cannot add the devices to static group which are not enrolled atleast once. 

sdagley
Esteemed Contributor II

@dbarry722 As @karthikeyan_mac, states you cannot add a Mac to a Static Group until it enrolls. You can however create Smart Group using the Criteria Enrollment Method: PreStage enrollment IS <Your Pre-Stage Enrollment Name> so that the Macs will become members automatically once they are enrolled.

dbarry722
New Contributor III

Its a strange one.

I erased the machines and went back through the same procedure and I can now see both machines to add them to the static group. I can't see what I did different to the first time as all steps were the same. on both occasions, it connected to the jamf server and pulled down the Remote Management Profile and I could see they were installed on the computer. I knew it connected to the jamf server as I could see the machine in the prestage section and it sync'd okay. Just couldnt see it to allow me to add it to the static group.